Nick Moss :: Privileged


Op zijn achtste cd, Privileged, covert meestergitarist Nick Moss uit Chicago het Cream-nummer Politician, en dat is geen toeval. Want Moss klinkt opvallend vaak als Cream, en zo nu en dan als Led Zeppelin. Dus wie van goudeerlijke en tijdloze bluesrock houdt, die is hier aan het goede adres. Ook bijzonder: een funky cover van Buffalo Springfield’s For What It’s Worth en de bijna acht minuten voortrazende instrumentale finale met de geweldige titel Bolognious Funk.

After seven critically-acclaimed traditional blues releases (along with two Blues Blast Music Award wins and 16 Blues Music Award nominations under his bands collective belt), Nick Moss is taking a fresh approach and heading in an exciting new direction on Privileged. As Blogcritic Josh Hathaway writes in the liner notes, “Privileged represents a change in direction but not inspiration. Before Nick met Jimmy Rogers, Jimmy Dawkins and Lurrie Bell, he met their musical offspring in the form of Led Zeppelin, The Allman Brothers, Free, Jimi Hendrix, ZZ Top, Cream and other legends who drew their inspiration from Mississippis Delta and the immortal treasures that sprang from his beloved nearby Chicago.” Moss has written some of the finest songs of his career, and by stretching beyond the traditional blues idiom, he has expanded his sound withoutlosing his identity.

1. Born Leader
2. Louise
3. Georgia Redsnake
4. Privileged At Birth
5. Politician
6. She’s So Fine (Born Blind)
7. Tear ‘em Down
8. For What It’s Worth
9. Why Should I Care
10. Your Love’s A Lie
11. Bolognious Funk

NickMoss_Privileged_onesheet (PDF)
NickMoss_bio (PDF)



%d bloggers liken dit: