Michael Weston King :: I didn’t raise my boy to be a soldier


De crisis schreeuwt om protestliedjes en de Brit Michael Weston King vult er zijn hele nieuwe CD I Didn’t Raise My Boy To Be A Soldier mee. Eigen nummers en covers van Phil Ochs en Bob Dylan. Krachtige muziek met een boodschap, hoopvol afgesloten met Simple Song Of Freedom, het Bobby Darin-nummer dat onsterfelijk werd gemaakt door Tim Hardin. Nou, de versie van King mag er ook zijn, zoals deze hele CD een ongekende zeggingskracht heeft.

From the raging of the First World War, through the depression era of the 1920’s, onto World War II and then the political uprisings of students and musicians during the 50’s, 60’s and early 70’s, the troubles of the world have always been reflected in song, with the outspoken voices of the masses being conveyed via music rather than actions.

The Protest movement hit its musical peak with the work of Pete Seeger, Woody Guthrie, Ramblin’ Jack Elliot, Josh White, and more, which in turn spawned the younger fresh-faced movement of the Greenwich Village folk scene and the songs of Phil Ochs, Fred Neil, Joan Baez and of course, Bob Dylan, amongst many others. The late 70’s brought a burst of socio-political activity in the music scene courtesy of the punk and post-punk movements but, apart from a few notable exceptions, it faded out, as the 80’s wore on, wore down, and turned into the 90’s and the noughties.

These are no less troubled times than the 50’s, 60’s or 70’s; indeed, you could argue they are even more so. We live in a world reeling from economic meltdown, natural disasters fuelled by man-made global warming, while wars continue to rage in the Middle East and elsewhere with continuous loss of innocent life. BUT, very few musicians and songwriters are reflecting these modern, yet difficult times. It is already 16 years since Edwyn Collins wrote his line bemoaning the lack of protest songs – fast forward to 2010 and now there also seems to be a lack of protest singers, certainly within the mainstream.

With the release of his new album, I Didn’t Raise My Boy To Be A Soldier, Michael Weston King makes a powerful statement about the state of the world right now, which will hopefully help kick-start a new wave of singers and songwriters, who will go on to comment and reflect what really needs to be said about what is going on around us.

1. In Time 
2. I Didn’t Raise My Boy To Be A Soldier 
3. Life Is Fine 
4. Hey Ma I’m Coming Home 
5. Parish Of Rope 
6. Cops Of The World 
7. Sounds Of Our Time 
8. High Price Blues 
9. Is there Anybody Here? 
10. In Spain The Dogs Are Too Tired To Bite You 
11. I Pity The Poor Immigrant 
12. Simple Song Of Freedom 

MichaelWestonKing _IdidntRaiseMyBoyToBeASoldier bio



%d bloggers liken dit: