Joan Baez :: Play Me Backwards


In 1992 verscheen Play Me Backwards, een buitengewoon fraaie CD van Joan Baez met als hoogtepunten het titelnummer, geschreven door Baez zelf, een prachtversie van Janis Ian’s Amsterdam en een emotionele cover van John Hiatt’s Through Your Hands. Nu is er een collectors edition met een extra CD met demo’s, waaronder haar versie van Seven Curses van Bob Dylan, de man met wie ze niet alleen een affaire had maar die ze ook als geen ander begreep en coverde. Prachtig. 

The new set in the Joan Baez re-issue programme, another 2 CD set with original album and a bonus disc of previously unreleased tracks.
First released in 1992, Play Me Backwards holds a very special place in the rich 50-year recording history of Joan Baez.  The album’s sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971.
Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second disc containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time.

CD One (Play Me Backwards):
1. Play Me Backwards
2. Amsterdam
3. Isaac and Abraham
4. Stones In The Road
5. Steal Across The Border
6. I’m With You 
7. I’m With You (Reprise)
8. Strange Rivers 
9. Through Your Hands
10. The Dream Song
11.Edge of Glory

CD Two (The Play Me Backwards Demos):
1. Medicine Wheel
2. Rise From The Ruins
3. Trouble With The Truth
4. Much Better View Of The Moon
5. Seven Curses
6. In My Day 
7. Dark Eyed Moon
8. We Endure
9. The Last Day
10. Lonely Moon

Joan Baez Play Me Backwards



%d bloggers like this: