Nick Lowe :: The Old Magic

by

‘Ik ben nu 61 en ik had nooit gedacht dat ik zelfs maar de 30 zou halen,’ zingt Nick Lowe in het prachtige Checkout Time. Het staat op The Old Magic, waar de oorspronkelijke godfather van de Britse punk en de zelfbenoemde Jesus of cool, op Frank Sinatra-achtige wijze met veel soul elf sublieme liedjes vertolkt. Acht eigen composities en covers van Jeff West, Tom T. Hall en Elvis Costello. Hij wordt begeleid door zijn eigen band met de geniale toetsenist Geraint Watkins en er zijn gastbijdragen van Jimmie Vaughan en Ron Sexsmith. Dit is wat je noemt hogeschoolpop voor grote mensen.

“I’m sixty-one years old now, Lord I never thought I’d see 30,” Nick Lowe sings on “Checkout Time,” a song from his first new studio album in over four years, ‘The Old Magic,’ set for September release on Proper. The line cuts right to the quick.  For though he spent his 20s “busy not fitting into three successive movements: pub rock, punk and new wave”, Lowe has mined fertile new creative ground in recent years and the eleven tracks on ‘The Old Magic’ dig deeper still.

Tracks
1.  Stoplight Roses [Nick Lowe]  
2.  Checkout Time [Nick Lowe] 
3.  House For Sale [Nick Lowe]  
4.  Sensitive Man [Nick Lowe]  
5.  I Read A Lot [Nick Lowe]  
6.  Shame On The Rain [Tom T. Hall]
7.  Restless Feeling [Nick Lowe] 
8.  The Poisoned Rose [Elvis Costello]
9.  Somebody Cares For Me [Nick Lowe] 
10. You Don’t Know Me At All [Jeff West]
11. ‘Til The Real Thing Comes Along [Nick Lowe]

Bio
Nick-Lowe_The-Old-Magic_Bio
Links
www.nicklowe.com
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nick_Lowe

