The Waterboys :: An Appointment With Mr. Yeats


Op An Appointment With Mr. Yeats heeft Mike Scott de teksten van Ierlands beroemdste dichter W.B. Yeats op muziek gezet en het resultaat is verbluffend. Beurtelings theatraal en ingetogen is het niet alleen een eerbetoon aan Yeats maar ondernemen The Waterboys ook een muzikale en grensverleggende ontdekkingsreis langs folk, pop en symfonische rock. An Appointment With Mr. Yeats maakt zijn pretenties meer dan waar.

An Appointment With Mr Yeats may have been two decades in the making but it proves more than worthy of the wait. Its 14 tracks sweep away any nagging notion that a marriage of music and poetry must be a dry, perhaps rather academic exercise. There is certainly no whiff of the library or lectern about An Appointment With Mr Yeats. This is not a dusty recital, nor some obscure side project, but a furiously full-blooded album on which the music is as rich, powerful and enduring as the words. The imprimatur of classic Waterboys is stamped on every note: epic, passionate, powerful, accessible, beautiful, bold, playful and ambitious, it proves not only that Yeats can rock, but that he can swing, pulse, reel, stomp, whisper, clank, shout and sway as well. 

1. The Hosting of the Shee
2. Song of the Wandering Aengus
3. News for the Delphic Oracle
4. A Full Moon in March
5. Sweet Dancer
6. White Birds
7. The Lake Isle of Innisfree
8. Mad as the Mist and Snow
9. Before the World Was Made
10. September 1913
11. An Irish Airman Forsees His Death
12. Politics
13. Let the Earth Bear Witness
14. The Faery’s Last Song

The-Waterboys_An-Appointment-With-Mr.Yeats_press-release (Word doc)
The-Waterboys_An-Appointment-With-Mr.Yeats_LYRICS (PDF




%d bloggers like this: