US Rails :: Southern Canon


US Rails is wat we vroeger een supergroep hadden genoemd. Vijf van de grootste talenten uit de Americana –Ben Arnold, Tom Gillam, Joseph Parsons, Scott Bricklin en Matt Muir- hebben voor de tweede keer hun krachten gebundeld. Het resultaat is Southern Canon en daarop klinken ze echt als een groep. Swingende countryrock, Randy Newman-achtige blues en Californische pop waar de Eagles allen maar van konden dromen. Ouderwets goed en nieuwerwets fantastisch.  

Just like on US Rails, it’s the ensemble playing not the individuals that stand out on the 13 tracks of Southern Canon. But while the debut was a patchwork affair compiled and recorded over several years, this project was put together as a whole with songs written exclusively for this album. It’s easy to hear that the five musicians have grown even tighter as a unit, even though they’ve drifted apart location-wise and recorded their parts in Pennsylvania and Germany, Paris and Texas. They have managed to distill the essence of everyone’s individual strengths into this band. US Rails have a signature sound and a lot of character and charisma! All of the four frontmen contribute three compositions each, drummer Matt Muir pitched in one and sings on it as well.

1. Heart Don’t Lie
2. Ring A Big Bell
3. Live Like We Love
4. Nightbird
5. Carry Your Weight
6. Do What You Love
7. Same Old You (Same Old Me)
8. Take A Long Time
9. Don’t Take Me Now
10. 18 & Lonely
11. Heartbeat Away
12. You’re My Home
13. Old Song On The Radio 
US Rails Southern Canon Blue Rose

%d bloggers liken dit: