Nanci Griffith :: Intersection

by

De twintigste CD van de Texaanse singer-songwriter Nanci Griffith is een van haar meest eerlijke en openhartige. Op Intersection legt ze haar ziel bloot. ‘Hell no, I’m not alright,’ zingt ze in het gelijknamige nummer en dat zet de toon. Vrolijk wordt het zelden, maar de muziek is van een ongekende schoonheid. En als het te somber dreigt te worden dan gaat ze uitbundig los in een hardcore country-nummer als Waiting On A Dark Eyed Gal of een gospel als Come On Up Mississippi. Ook de uitvoering van Blaze Foley’s ‘If I Could Only Fly’ is van ongekende klasse. Intersection is een geweldige CD.

“It’s emotional for me, and it’s personal, and it makes my heart pound, thinking I’m going to be totally exposed here,” says Nanci Griffith, the Grammy-winning singer-songwriter and Americana Music Association Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Intersection is not an album of resolution or closure; it’s an album about difficulties, about anger, about things that slip away and things that explode.

“I’ve had a hard life, and I write it down,” Griffith sings on the title track, and that line serves as a statement of fact and purpose, and as a gentler way to explain her near-shouted musical exclamation, “Hell no, I’m not alright.” Intersection is an examination of a particularly difficult time for Griffith, fraught with personal bust-ups, with family turmoil, with hard miles and tears and habits to break. “Sometimes making the best is doing the worst to yourself,” she sings here.
 
 
 
Tracks
1  Bethlehem Steel
2  Never Going Back 
3  Intersection
4  Waiting On A Dark Eyed Gal
5  Hell No (I’m Not Alright)
6  Stranded In The High Ground
7  If I Could Only Fly 
8  Just Another Morning Here
9  Bad Seed
10 Davey’s Last Picture
11 Come On Up Mississippi
12 High On A Mountain Top. 
 
Bio
PRPCD096-NANCI-GRIFFITH-Intersection—bio

 
Links
www.nancigriffith.com
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanci_Griffith

