Ruthie Foster :: Let It Burn


Voor haar nieuwe CD is de Texaanse Ruthie Foster uitgeweken naar New Orleans om daar met plaatselijke muzikanten aan de slag te gaan. Let It Burn combineert het beste van twee werelden: zuidelijke funk en R&B en de country, blues, folk en soul roots van Foster. De repertoirekeuze is vlekkeloos met eigen nummers en covers van onder andere The Black Keys, The Band, Los Lobos en Adele. Absoluut hoogtepunt tussen vele hoogtepunten is haar eigen Lord Remember Me waar ze met hulp van The Blind Boys Of Alabama grote hoogtes bereikt. Adembenemend. 

Those who have followed Ruthie Foster’s eclectic musical history know that she can burn down any stage with her combustible blend of soul, blues, rock, folk and gospel. And when Grammy Award-winning producer John Chelew suggested she record an album in New Orleans — with support handpicked from the Crescent City’s overflowing pool of talent — it was an opportunity for Ruthie to infuse fresh spices into her already rich sonic gumbo. The result is Let It Burn — slated for March 2, 2012 release on Blue Rose Records — a recording that smolders, sizzles and ignites with an intensity born from her vibrant voice and indelible presence.

1. Welcome Home
2. Set Fire To The Rain
3. This Time
4. You Don’t Miss Your Water
5. Everlasting Light
6. Lord Remember Me
7. Ring Of Fire
8. AIm For The Heart
9. It Makes No Difference
10. Long Time Gone
11. Don’t Want To Know
12. If I Had A Hammer
13. The Titanic
14. Truth (New Orleans Funk Version) – Bonustrack




%d bloggers liken dit: