The Mastersons :: Birds Fly South


The Mastersons zijn Chris Masterson en zijn vrouw Eleanor Whitmore. In 2011 doken ze opeens op in de band van Steve Earle en maakten ze indruk als multi-instrumentalisten. Op hun debuut-CD Birds Fly South maken ze nog veel meer indruk. Ze hebben stemmen die ideaal bijelkaar passen en ze leveren elf perfecte zelfgeschreven rootsy popliedjes af die ook van de hand van Wilco en The Jayhawks hadden kunnen zijn. The Mastersons zijn de nieuwe Buddy & Julie Miller.   

Chris and Eleanor met in 2005 appropriately at a music festival; Chris was playing with Jack Ingram and Eleanor with Susan Gibson. Their accomplished songwriting talents and inherent musical ability have allowed them to co-write and play with many high-caliber musicians over the years. Chris, who at the age of 13 could be seen playing guitar regularly around his hometown of Houston, collaborated with Jack Ingram on the song “Don’t Want To Hurt” and co-wrote “Virginia Belle” and “Sleeping With The Lights On” with Pat Green for his record Cannonball. He’s played in Son Volt, with Bobby Bare Jr, Hank Williams III and Ingram. Eleanor, who fell in love with the violin after attending an Itzhak Perlman concert with her opera singer mother, has played with an impressive list of musicians herself including Regina Specktor, Diana Ross, Kelly Willis, Bruce Robison and Angus and Julia Stone. She also has co-writing credits including writing “Shape I’m In” with Susan Gibson (who wrote “Wide Open Spaces.”) 

1. You Don’t Know
2. Crash Test
3. The Other Shoe
4. Tell Me It’s Alright
5. Money
6. Would It Really Be A Sin?
7. Time
8. One Word More
9. Fool
10. No Dancing
11. Birds Fly South  
The Mastersons Birds Fly South New West
The Mastersons BIO

%d bloggers like this: