Paal Flaata :: Wait By The Fire – Songs Of Chip Taylor

by

PaalFlaataWaitByTheFire-CoverDe Noorse zanger Paal Flaata en een van Amerika’s beste liedjesschrijvers Chip Taylor zijn goede vrienden. Ze treden regelmatig samen op, met als emotioneel hoogtepunt een benefietconcert voor de slachtoffers van de Breivik-moordpartij. Het nummer dat ze daar samen deden, This Darkest Day, is de afsluiter van Wait By The Fire – Songs Of Chip Taylor. De CD is een eerbetoon van een grote zanger aan een gote schrijver. Voorafgaand aan die kippenvel finale komen hits van Taylor (Angel Of The Morning, I Can Make It With You) en vergeten juweeltje (He Sits At My Table, opgenomen door Willie Nelson in 1960) voorbij, allemaal even fraai uitgevoerd.


I met Paal Flaata at the Down On The Farm Festival in Halden, Norway during the troubled times of the killings in Oslo and Utoya on July 22, 2011. When the festival was cancelled, the musicians gathered together and agreed to do a free concert for the families and friends of the victims. A few hours before the show, I wrote a song for the victims, THIS DARKEST DAY. Paal showed up late in the rehearsal. I asked him if he would try to sing it with me. Although he said he would, It seemed an impossible task.

PaalFlaata_600px

Tracks
1. Wait by the Fire
2. He Sits at my Table
3. Angel of the Morning
4. I Can Make It With You
5. If I Stop Loving You
6. Sleepy Eyes
7. Graceland Souvenirs
8. Weaker Moments
9. You Didn’t Get Here Last Night
10. This Darkest Day

Bio
PaalFlaataWaitByTheFire-bio

More info
http://www.rootsy.nu/label/artist.php?id=467

