Steve Earle :: The Low Highway


SteveEarle-LowHighway-coverNa een paar uitstapjes – het Townes Van Zandt-eerbetoon Townes en de door T-Bone Burnett geproduceerde I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive – is The Low Highway weer een traditionele Steve Earle CD. Een karakteristieke mix van Woody Guthrie-folk (het fantastische titelnummer), rockende country (Calico County is meeslepend) en fraaie Beatles-pop (het kippenvel opwekkende Invisible). Drie van de twaalf liedjes kennen we van de TV-serie Treme waar Earle in speelt. The Low Highway is Steve Earle in topvorm.

Steve Earle is set to release his new album The Low Highway on April 16th via New West Records. The 12-track set is the anticipated follow up to 2011’s Grammy Award-nominated album I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive and is the first billed as “Steve Earle & The Dukes (And Duchesses).” The album is also the first to feature “The Dukes” band name since 1987’s Exit 0. The Low Highway features his live band consisting of Chris Masterson, Eleanor Whitmore, Kelley Looney, Will Rigby and Allison Moorer and was co-produced by Earle and Ray Kennedy (whose production partnership known as the “Twangtrust” was behind Lucinda Williams’ Car Wheels on a Gravel Road). The Low Highway is Earle’s 15th studio album since the release of his highly influential 1986 debut Guitar Town.

Steve Earle TheLowHighway photo by TedBarron

1. The Low Highway
2. Calico County
3. Burnin’ It Down
4. That All You Got?
5. Love’s Gonna Blow My Way
6. After Mardi Gras
7. Pocket Full Of Rain
8. Invisible
9. Warren Hellman’s Banjo
10. Down The Road Part II
11. 21st Century Blues
12. Remember Me




%d bloggers like this: