Morgan O’Kane :: The One They Call The Wind


MorganOKaneMorgan O’Kane uit Virginia is een liedjesschrijver, zanger, virtuoze banjospeler en milieuactivist. Dat komt allemaal samen op zijn derde CD The One They Call The Wind… Folk met ballen, akoestische muziek met de drive van een beginnende punkband. O’Kane’s stem doet denken aan die van Bruce Springsteen, zijn teksten zijn in de traditie van Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger en Joe Strummer. Dit is traditionele volksmuziek, getransporteerd naar de 21ste eeuw. Meeslepend en bijzonder.

The One They Call The Wind does owe a lot to Morgan’s 2 prior album releases. 2010’s debut LP, Nine Lives which was heralded by, among others, Woodsongs Old Time Radio Hour who quipped, “If Uncle Dave Macon married Bruce Springsteen their love child would be Morgan O’Kane” (the album also made MOJO Magazine’s Top Ten playlist). And 2011’s Pendulum prompted Dutch outlet, LUST FOR LIFE to say, ” Morgan O’Kane is a phenomenon…raw and intense..he revives old heroes of traditional music while hypnotically channeling the heartbeat of the country. Fiercely, together with Ezekiel Healy, Ferd Moyse, Leyla McCalla as though they come from a deep and dark past of a not yet mapped out American mountain scene”.

Morgan O'Kane

1 Monarchs
2 Compass Rose
3 Across The Distance
4 The One They Call The Wind
5 My Girl
6 Dharaghs Kitchen
7 Shroud Of Turin
8 Hey Mama
9 Wasteland
10 Last Chance
11 Fiddlers Green

Morgan OKane The One – bio.pdf







%d bloggers liken dit: