Webb Wilder :: Mississippi Moderne


WebbWilderMMIn 1986 debuteerde Webb Wilder, uit Hattiesburg, Mississippi, met de rootsklassieker It Came From Nashville. Nu, bijna dertig jaar later, is er Mississippi Moderne. En Wilder is nog steeds in topvorm. Country, rock, soul en garage. Mooie eigen nummers zoals het met Dan Penn geschreven Only A Fool en fijne covers zoals I Gotta Move van The Kinks en I’m Gonna Get My Baby van Webb’s held Jimmy Reed. Hoogtepunt is echter het wilde en psychedelische Yard Dog, een nummer uit de jaren zestig van Joe Frank & The Knights, een obscure band uit Mississippi. Bij elkaar maakt dat van Mississippi Moderne een van de coolste rootsplaten van de laatste jaren.

Wilder has crafted a lively recording that pays homage to his home state through a striking set of originals, coupled with distinctive cover renditions that stretch from tunes by the Kinks to Charlie Rich and Jimmy Reed. Given superb backing from his highly accomplished and longtime bandmates, the Beatnecks (Tom Comet, bass, Bob Williams, guitar, and Jimmy Lester, drums), Mississippi Moderne captures the full flavor of Wilder’s raucous style, based on his singular baritone vocal delivery, solid guitar, a tight, punchy rhythmic foundation and some surprising touches of the heart added in as well.


1. Stones in My Pathway (Intro)
2. Rough and Tumble Guy
3. If It Ain’t Broke (Don’t Fix It)
4. Only a Fool
5. I Gotta Move
6. Too Much Sugar for a Nickel
7. Lonely Blue Boy
8. Yard Dog
9. I’m Not Just Anybody’s Fool
10. It Takes Time
11. Lucy Mae Blues
12. Who Will the Next Fool Be
13. I’m Gonna Get My Baby
14. Stones in My Pathway

Webb Wilder – Bio.pdf








%d bloggers liken dit: