Wesley Stace :: Wesley Stace’s John Wesley Harding (featuring The Jayhawks)   

wesleystace_johnwesleyharding_coverDe Brit Wesley Stace heeft een imposant folkrock-oeuvre opgebouwd onder de naam John Wesley Harding. Die tijd is voorbij. Hij opereert nu onder zijn eigen naam. Zijn nieuwe CD heet dan ook Wesley Stace’s John Wesley Harding. En die is formidabel. Als begeleidingsband heeft hij hiervoor de Amerikaanse Jayhawks gerecruteerd en die zijn in topvorm. Met een dozijn fantastische liedjes, van ingetogen folky tot soms hard rockend (I Don’t Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll is een verpletterende opener), is dit zowel voor The Jayhawks als Wesley Stace een mijlpaal in hun carrière.

The album features 12 tracks chosen for these sessions by Stace, who says, “I always have a lot of songs, so I listened to every unused song I had, many of them quite recent, and picked 11 that I thought The Jayhawks (or The Wezhawks, as we started to call it) would sound great on. I also included a cover, “Don’t Turn Me Loose,” which is where the idea of our making a record together had originated: I saw them live and thought they’d sound great playing that song, and then I thought: and I should be singing it! And they liked the idea. And we did these twelve songs, and that’s it. Everything we recorded is on the record. No outtakes.”
1. Don’T Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll (Ft. The Jayhawks)
2. You’Re A Song (Ft. The Jayhawks)
3. Better Tell No One Your Dreams (Ft. The Jayhawks)
4. How You Fall (Ft. The Jayhawks)
5. For Me And You (Ft. The Jayhawks)
6. Hastings Pier (Ft. The Jayhawks)
7. Audience Of One (Ft. The Jayhawks)
8. Don’T Turn Me Loose (Ft. The Jayhawks)
9. The Wilderness Years (Ft. The Jayhawks)
10. What You Want Belongs To You (Ft. The Jayhawks)
11. Remember Me (Ft. The Jayhawks)
12. Let’S Evaporate (Ft. The Jayhawks)


%d bloggers like this: