Robyn Hitchcock :: Robyn Hitchcock

by
Robyn Hitchcock is een van de meest excentrieke mannen in de muziek van de laatste 35 jaar. Hij is een singer/songwriter, maar switcht even makkelijk naar rock, psychedelica en country. Zijn 21ste CD heet simpelweg Robyn Hitchcock en is een indirecte maar felle en intelligente aanklacht tegen alles waar Donald Trump voor staat: een totaal gebrek aan empathie. Maar het is vooral een muzikaal zeer opwindende verzameling liedjes. Uit de bocht gierende country (I Pray When I’m Drunk), barokke folk (1970 In Aspic), wilde psychedelica (Mad Shelley’s Letterbox) en luid protest (I Want To Tell You About What I Want). Geweldig.

ROBYN HITCHCOCK immediately stands among the most energized and ambitious recordings of the iconic troubadour’s long career. The album sees the East Nashville-based Hitchcock casting familiar shapes into surprising new forms, the sci-fi fueled sounds and visions that first stimulated his work now ribboned with experience and hard-earned wisdom. Songs like “Sayonara Judge” are gorgeous and intense, rife with avant imagery, astringent wit, and righteous anger. Spanning dystopic psychedelia (“Mad Shelley’s Letterbox,” “Time Coast”), inspired folk baroque (“Raymond and the Wires,” “1970 In Aspic”), even rambunctious liver-fried country (“I Pray When I’m Drunk”), ROBYN HITCHCOCK marks both a masterful new chapter and ideal entry point into Hitchcock’s wildly brilliant oeuvre.
Tracks
1. I Want To Tell You About What I Want
2. Virginia Woolf
3. I Pray When I’M Drunk
4. Mad Shelley’S Letterbox
5. Sayonara Judge
6. Detective Mindhorn
7. 1970 In Aspic
8. Raymond And The Wires
9. Autumn Sunglasses
10. Time Coast
Bio
RobynHitchcock-PressRelease
Links
http://www.robynhitchcock.com
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robyn_Hitchcock
http://www.yeproc.com/artists/robyn-hitchcock
Tags:


