Shovels & Rope :: Busted Jukebox Vol. 2


ShovelsandRope Busted Jukebox vol.. 2Naast hun reguliere platen, Little Seeds was de allerbeste rootsrock-CD uit 2016, heeft het man/vrouw-duo Shovels & Rope uit Charleston, South Carolina een terugkerend hobbyproject: Busted Jukebox. Daarop coveren ze niet alleen hun favoriete nummers, voor ieder nummer nodigen ze ook een gast uit. We zijn nu aangeland bij Volume 2. En dat is even vreemd als opzienbarend. Ze doen onder andere nummers van Sigur Ros, Chuck Berry, The Clash, Leonard Cohen, The Breeders en Faith No More. Gasten zijn John Fullbright, Hayes Carll, Brandi Carlile, Rhett Miller en John Moreland (die hartverscheurend Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain doet) om er een handvol uit te lichten. Vreemd, jazeker. Maar ook opwindend en verdomde goed.

Busted Jukebox, Vol. 2 was produced by Michael Trent and features a diverse selection of songs originally written and recorded by an eclectic list of artists, including The Clash, Concrete Blonde, Leonard Cohen, Faith No More, Sigur Ros, The Breeders, Willie Nelson and more. Artists such as Brandi Carlile, Hayes Carll, Nicole Atkins, John Fullbright and Rhett Miller help inject a new energy into these revised renditions of these tried and true classics. Busted Jukebox, Vol. 2 is the follow up to 2015’s surprise release Busted Jukebox, Vol.1, which included new takes on songs by The Kinks, Lou Reed, Guns N’ Roses, Nine Inch Nails, Nick Lowe, Neil Young, Emmylou Harris and more.

ShovelsandRope2_byCurtisWayneMillard_5715-2Photo credit: Curtis Wayne Millard

1. Cleanup Hitter feat. Brandi Carlile
2. Joey feat. Nicole Atkins
3. Do You Love Me Now feat. Rhett Miller
4. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain feat. John Moreland
5. Untitled 1 feat. Matthew Logan Vasquez
6. The Air That I Breathe feat. Indianola
7. I’m Your Man feat. John Fullbright
8. Death Or Glory feat. Hayes Carll
9. Epic feat. Lera Lynn
10. You Never Can Tell

ShovelsandRope BIO



%d bloggers like this: