Markus Rill & The Troublemakers :: Songland


Markus Rill is al twintig jaar het levende bewijs dat je perfecte Americana kunt maken, ook als je niet uit Amerika komt. De Duitser en zijn band The Troublemakers leveren met Songland wederom een zeer geslaagde rootsplaat af. Deze keer leunen ze wat meer op Southern soul en folk en is er bewust gekozen voor een wat minder rockende benadering. En dat komt de liedjes alleen maar ten goede. Die zijn namelijk zonder uitzondering raak; alle vijftien. Songland is een bloedmooie CD.


Since 1997 Markus Rill from Würzburg, Germany has been living proof that you don’t necessarily need American genes to write and sing authentic folk & roots music. He’s been touring in Germany and Europe for more than twenty years and has steadily released album after strong album which makes his back catalogue quite an impressive one. Songland is already Markus Rill’s ninth album released on Blue Rose and perhaps a little less extroverted, a trifle less (heartland) rockoriented like its predecessor Dream Anyway, while being very articulate and markedly strong in lyrics and musically diversified. There’s folk & roots sounds, country rock, Americana, rock’n’roll and a heaping helping of Southern soul of the Muscle Shoals and Memphis
variety. The Troublemakers are obviously an important component.

1. Saddle Up & Ride
2. Inside The Wheel
3. The Thing With Love
4. Swampland Of The Mind
5. Length Of Rope
6. Fearless
7. Emily
8. A Girl That’s Gone
9. Conscience County Jail
10. A Love So Strong
11. Words Of Apology
12. Old Man Now
13. Mistake Like Me
14. Broken Man
15. The Great Mystery









%d bloggers liken dit: