The Telescopes :: Songs Of Love And Revolution


The Telescopes bestaan, met wat korte onderbrekingen sinds 1986. Songs Of Love And Revolution is de indrukwekkende twaalfde plaat van de Engelse groep. Zoals gewoonlijk verstoppen ze hun liedjes in een fascinerende geluidsbrei van drums, gitaren en feedback. The Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth en Jesus & Mary Chain verbleken hierbij tot de braafste jongetjes van de klas. Maar wat The Telescopes gemeen blijven houden met die bands is dat het nooit experimenteren om het experimenteren is; de liedjes moeten ook deugen. Nou, dat doen ze op Songs Of Love And Revolution, alle negen. Waanzinnig goed!

The Telescopes have been described by the British music press as ‘more a revolution of the psyche than a revolution of the sidewalk’; a thread consistent throughout a body of work spanning over 30 years. The Telescopes have constantly pushed at their own boundaries to unravel new pathways of existence, colouring outside the lines of all expectation to reach beyond the realm of natural vision. Songs Of Love And Revolution is a solar burst of trance inducing rhythms gripped at the helm by a wall of throbbing bass held in place by a swarm of encircling guitars. Lashed to the mast of this whirling dervish, incantations abound to dispel what is bound. This is the 12th album by The Telescopes, music for a four-piece ensemble that will never sound the same twice in any given environment or to any set of ears.

1. This Is Not A Dream
2. Strange Waves
3. Mesmerised
4. Come Bring Your Love
5. This Train
6. Songs Of Love And Revolution
7. You’re Never Alone With Despair
8. We See Magic And We Are Neutral, Unnecessary
9. Haul Away The Anchor

The Telescopes back catalogue.pdf
The Telescopes_eng.pdf








%d bloggers liken dit: