Sunny War :: Anarchist Gospel


Sunny War heeft in haar leven het een en ander meegemaakt. In haar Californische jaren was ze verslaafd aan drank (wodka) en drugs (meth en heroine). Ze speelde in punkbands totdat ze naar Nashville verhuisde en verslaafd raakte aan de muziek van Robert Johnson en Roky Erickson en aan country blues en gospel. Haar vierde album heet Anarchist Gospel en daarin is ze meer dan openhartig over haar turbulente verleden en over haar aan overdoses overleden vrienden. Maar wat de plaat vooral zo ongelooflijk goed en fascinerend maakt, zijn haar stem, haar gitaarspel en haar composities. Ze krijgt hulp van onder andere Jim James en David Rawlings, maar ze is zelf de absolute ster. Dit is traditionele rootsmuziek die concurreert met het beste werk van Hurray For The Riff Raff en North Mississippi All Stars. Anarchist Gospel verdient met gemak vijf sterren!

“I feel like there are two sides of me,” says the Nashville-based singer-songwriter and guitar virtuoso known as Sunny War. “One of them is very self-destructive, and the other is trying to work with that other half to keep things balanced.” That’s the central conflict on her fourth album, the eclectic and innovative Anarchist Gospel, which documents a time when it looked like the self-destructive side might win out. Extreme emotions can make that battle all the more perilous, yet from such trials Sunny has crafted a set of songs that draw on a range of ideas and styles, as though she’s marshaling all her forces to get her ideas across: ecstatic gospel, dusty country blues, thoughtful folk, rip-roaring rock and roll, even avant garde studio experiments. She melds them together into a powerful statement of survival, revealing a probing songwriter who indulges no comforting platitudes and a highly innovative guitarist who deploys spidery riffs throughout every song. Because it promises not healing but resilience and perseverance, because it doesn’t take shit for granted, Anarchist Gospel holds up under such intense emotional pressure, acknowledging the pain of living while searching for something that lies just beyond ourselves, some sense of balance between the bad and the good.

1. Love’s Death Bed
2. No Reason
3. Shelter And Storm
4. I Got No Fight
5. Swear To Gawd
6. Earth
7. New Day
8. Baby Bitch
9. His Love
10. Hopeless
11. Higher
12. Test Dummy
13. Sweet Nothing
14. Whole


Lyrics and Album credits
Sunny War Anarchist Gospel Credits+&+Lyrics+.pdf



%d bloggers liken dit: