Doug Paisley :: Say What You Like


Say What You Like is het vijfde album van de Canadees Doug Paisley en wederom maakt dat duidelijk hoe goed hij is. Teksten waar je U tegen zegt, een bescheiden stem die desondanks in staat is kippenvel te veroorzaken. En dan zijn liedjes… die lijken wel een combinatie van Townes Van Zandt, J.J. Cale en John Prine. Paisley is hier te lande nogal onder de radar gebleven. En dat is onterecht. Als er nog zoiets als muzikale rechtvaardigheid bestaat, dan worden er van Say What You Like heel veel exemplaren verkocht en gestreamd. Want Doug Paisley is een uniek talent!

Paisley’s new record, Say What You Like, underscores his prowess as a songwriter, while exploring new sonic terrain with producer Afie Jurvanen. Distilled from more than 250 unrecorded songs penned by Paisley over the last decade, the eleven tracks selected by Jurvanen combine folk, country and pop sensibilities to showcase Paisley’s rich sense of melody and remarkable way with words. The final product is Paisley at his best – honest, exposed, searching – and yet comforting in his ability to communicate the universal in the struggles of the individual. In meditations on the disappointments and shortcomings of love, Paisley looks hard at middle age, and facing the time “when looking young is getting old.” “We’re always somewhere in-between forever and walking away / we’ll spend a lifetime, you and me, day by day.” One cannot help but get the sense from these songs that Paisley simply must write – it’s about emotional survival and the process of working through. “As a songwriter these days,” Paisley reflected earlier this year, “there’s very little to gain and very little to lose so I am working only from the heart, there’s no other motive.” It shows.

01 Say What You Like
02 Sometimes It’s So Easy
03 Wide Open Plain|
04 Rewrite History
05 Almost
06 If I Wanted To
07 I Wanted It Too Much
08 Make It A Double
09 You Turn My Life Around
10 Holy Roller
11 Old Hometown

Doug Paisley_SayWhatYouLike_Project Document.pdf

Doug lyrics
Doug Paisley_liner and lyrics_April 10.pdf


Tags: ,

%d bloggers liken dit: